+44 (0) 3333 445 286 [email protected]

Subtotal: £0.00

No products in the basket.

On September 15th, after 3 years of revision work, parts 1 and 10 of ISO/IEC 20000 were published. This is the only International Standard for service management. It can be used with IT and non-IT services using any underlying method, framework or technology.

Part 1 specifies the requirements that must be met if you want to be certified to the standard to demonstrate your best practice in service management. Part 10 is Concepts and Vocabulary providing the terms and definitions used and an explanation of the parts of the 20000 series and related standards.

The new ISO/IEC 20000 framework is shown below:

Parts 2 and 3 which provide guidance on the use of part 1 are being worked on and will be published in 2019. An exciting new part, part 7, is being developed to provide guidance for those organisations who work with multiple standards on the integration of ISO/IEC 20000-1 with ISO 9001 (quality management) and ISO/IEC 27001 (information security management). Finally, Part 7 is expected to be published in 2019.

Read more about the 2018 edition of ISO/IEC 20000-1 in our A Guide to ISO /IEC 20000-1:2018 Service Management.

About the Author:

Lynda Cooper has been working with service management for most of her career. She is an ITIL Master, Chair of the BSI committee on ISO/IEC 20000, UK representative to the ISO committee and project editor for ISO/IEC 20000-1, the International Standard for service management. Lynda is a conference speaker, blogger, consultant and trainer who takes a friendly, open, pragmatic approach when working with her customers.